a new map of the world.

make peace.

tumblr_lkg7d0LAnI1qi12y9o1_500Foundations.

– Honor God
– Prefer others
– Love yourself

“If at all possible, be at peace with all men” – Romans 12:18
“Blessed are the peacemakers” – Matthew 5:9
“Now the God of peace…” – Hebrews 13:20

Peace – freedom from disturbance: quiet and tranquility.

I have been struggling with peace. not peace to be the opposite of strife, but peace to be settled in choice. The gut-wrenching desire for action at the end of a day that requires patience – to wait, to be well. This struggle is common, although shows itself through different forms. Many try to take a point of control of their own in matters that they do not have the authority wrought. For me it is the belief – if I say this, or if I make this point, then… This is the thinking that has pulled my hand so many times from the door of departure and put myself back into a position of conflict, a position in which I felt I could change matters through my own efforts, my own cunning.

To believe we can change matters where wisdom and endurance beckon us to wait is pride. Goodness and Mercy point to go this way, but I pull another. It is God to whom the heart ultimately belongs, and when we speak what we are to speak, we must be earnest to make peace – with others, with the situation, with ourselves. It is not that an agreement is reached, but we become at rest with the difference – not that we do not pray, nor remain open to positive changes, but we accept our place as we are; once an alien, now reconciled.

“…and through Him to reconcile everything to Himself by making peace through the blood of His cross.” – Colossians 1:20

We are told that God pursues us; this is true, but not always true. We know the God who pursues because everything has been reconciled; He is peace. In the Old Testament, He would often turn away from hearing His people in their rebellion and simply wait for the moment to show Himself as things were not reconciled. In the same, Jesus was never hurried in His ministry. He was in control. He didn’t merely possess authority, but He was authority… He is authority. He is not hurried. Be patient.

I find to be at peace does not mean to pursue the indifference, but often to let it grow as it will. My heart, if unbittered and my testimony unharmed, will only grow and situation will reflect the calling of God in my life 10 times more. Christ came to seek and save, but we are only called to make disciples.

In the same, if God is peace and by peace we are called children of God, then our peace is not of ourselves. It is not something that I can gain through being calm, but only by being content. The authority over my life is in the one Who slept in the boat during the storm, and so, I too can sleep in the boat during the storm. It is not from a lack of fear, but faith. Faith is rest. Rest is peace. “The Son of Man is the Lord of the Sabbath/rest” (Matthew 12:8). Peace is on loan from God, who is peace and made peace even to His enemies.

 

Leave a Reply

