a new map of the world.

you write the words.

wallpaper-1623249God is amazing. The future is unseen and unwritten. I do my best to prepare for it, schedule it, write it, but at the end of the day I realize how it only belongs to God. We only see a fraction of what is happening, and then we mistake what we see for the whole picture and start to plan on our own and we lose track of this simple truth: be still and know.

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us – Ephesians 3:20

This verse shared in devotions today in our staff meetings. I am working at the Alexander House in Charlotte facilitating weddings. It is owned by a man: I have known for many years as he used to be an elder in the church where I grew up, and his wife: whom I have not known as long, and the grounds are used as a B&B and to host weddings to people from all over. Last Sunday, a friend from church approached me with this job; the timing was absolutely perfect!

The home was built in the early part of the 1900s with a  beautiful carriage house just beyond the sun room; a place where the bride will be kept from her groom, revealed at the proper time, while he waits anxiously below. The grounds open up to a large garden with large oak trees over lush green grass surrounding a small pond. There is a large open area that flows into an arbor where the ceremonies will take place. The receptions will take place in a large barn with cedar doors on every side and a dance floor. It’s really beautiful and really amazing.

There is a piano in the corner that – I kid you not – it plays itself. I wanted to put on my black suit vest and white shirt and over act while pretending to play while a girl danced in a large, frilly dress… Maybe at 2x speed and in black and white. There could be two guys trying to push a piano up some stairs and maybe even some beefy fellows trying to hoist a giant safe into the second story of some building – No word of a lie.

I found myself getting really excited, for a lot of different reasons. But to just imagine what would be taking place on the grounds throughout the spring, summer, and fall. To be able to have some part in such a memorable and honorable day for so many; it just got me really excited (which isn’t that hard, I know. I’m pretty excitable).

It’s amazing to see God start to move in life, which is really the key part here: without Him this is entirely meaningless. The more I let things be and let Him write the words in my story, the more I see the purpose. It’s as though He shows me His hand when I stop fighting Him. It isn’t even that what I fought for was bad, but it wasn’t found in surrender. He receives the glory when I surrender my fight to Him and lay down my arms and trust. It’s actually simple.

This affirms many things I think I am being taught in general, but also works with writing as well and this wedding season will end roughly the same time I plan on publishing my book: which is cool, and the reason I write and why it is important, as well as my desire to work with orphans and the disenfranchised in as many places as possible.

1 Kings 19 tells the story of Elijah waiting for God on the mountain. An earthquake shook the mountain, a wind broke it to pieces, and even a roar of fire swept over, but God was not there. He came and spoke through a gentle wind in a calm. I realize how easy it is for me to fall into looking for God the way I want to find Him that I pass over what He is trying to tell me. Sure, I can say: if it is Your will, do this or do that, but what if He doesn’t want to show me? Shouldn’t that be beautiful to me and shouldn’t I stand in complete awe? I must not miss what He is telling me between what I think He should be telling me.

Or when I feel discouraged, shouldn’t I be bold in His sufficiency? Yet I say: “I need a gummy bear to fall from the sky to know you are with me!” and one does (I don’t recommend asking that; it’s just an example. it’s hard enough to get them to fall from the bag, let alone the sky), and tomorrow, well, I need two gummy bears!! Have I forgotten yesterday that i should fear tomorrow? Look at the children of Israel. Manna came every day to supply their needs, but they wanted quail. God gave them what they asked, but they got more then they bargained for. We can become such encouragement junkies at times just to mask our need to have all the answers to brush out the simple faith to let things be. I do it all the time. I’m such a child.

Anyway, life will happen whether we are awake for it or not. I can either make the most of it and move forward in what I do have and the direction I know I am called, or I can wander in circles over and over and over. It’s taken a while, but I think I’m learning what it means to hand the pen back over and go back to Ephesians and say.

…here’s my life, You write the words.

Leave a Reply

